Unsettled

Unsettled

Sometimes the heart sees what is invisible to the eye ~ H. Jackson Browne, Jr.

We lose ourselves and find ourselves at the same time when it comes to heartbreak and love. When we least expect it, the cure to this complicated malady appears at just the right time. And it, er, he may just be gorgeous, successful and harboring his own inner secrets. In author S.C. Ellington’s debut new adult novel Unsettled, she weaves a sensual tale of faith long lost, and the two people who lead each other on a tempestuous journey of self-discovery, with a stop for unexpected romance along the way.

 Interviewer: Christy Campbell

**********

Have you always wanted to be a writer?

Yes and no. I always enjoyed using my creative propensity. I fund pleasure in writing short poems and things of that nature. For a while I considered medical school, then law school, but for me, those professions were more of a means to earn a substantial living. My father always told me to choose a profession that I didn’t feel like would be “work.” I ended up doing the opposite and pursued my Masters degree in Public Policy and Administration. From that point I acquired a position within the government. Over the course of the last few years, I found myself yearning for me.

I would say that the day my husband brought me the Kindle was the day that my life and outlook changed. I started thinking back on my father’s words and what I found joy in. I’ve always been an avid reader, and many close friends always told me that they thought I wrote well. About a year ago, a tiny light bulb went off, propelling me to pursue my creative passion for writing. Had it not been for the ever evolving world of self-publishing, I am not sure that I would have ever seriously pursued my dreams of becoming a published author.

What inspired you to write Unsettled?

I decided to write Unsettled as a way to express some of my internal thoughts. In life we all go through trying experiences and sometimes they are hard to move past. In Brooklyn and Logan’s case, they are both plagued by secrets. Every person has to be willing to take chances, and make changes. If you can’t do that, then what do you have? You’re just left Unsettled

Which is more challenging—writing from a male or female character point of view?

It is most definitely harder for me to write male characters. As a woman it is so much easier for me to tune into what most women desire, complain about, or fear. Thankfully, my husband has been supportive and allows me to pick his brain to get male points of view.

If you could see the world through the eyes of one of your characters, which one would it be and why?

I would have to say I would like to experience the world through Logan’s eyes. Logan has had to deal with some hard blows. While everyone deals with adversity at some point, it would be nice to experience how he strives to move past it on a daily basis.

Have you ever suffered from ‘writer’s block’ Tell us what you do to get past that oh so common hurdle when it comes to writing.

I had a few cases of this dreadful disease! I found that by leaving my work alone for a few days, ideas were able to flourish when I didn’t put myself under pressure to spit out words.

When concocting the recipe for a new book, how do you determine if your work is a short story or a novel in the making?

On some level, the characters speak to you. I find if they have a lot to say, then I continue to write. If they have, yelled, screamed, and made up in twenty pages, then I know they were only meant to be around for a season or two.

If you could bring one of your characters to life, who would you choose and why?

I would choose Brooklyn. Like Logan, Brooklyn has also dealt with tumultuous ups and downs in her life. Brooklyn has a fire about her, and I enjoy that. To see some of her crazy comments played out in real life would be comical.

Today’s latest genre, New Adult, involves a more mature audience. What scenes were the hardest for you to write in order to keep this age group engaged?

Oddly enough, as a new adult romance author, the hardest scenes for me to pull together are the actual love scenes. I struggle with the syntax of my word choice, where to stage the characters, and above all, keeping the scenes fiery.

Do fans of this genre have any impact on your writing?

Certainly! As a budding author, you’re eager to hear what readers think of characters and the overall story line. What they liked and didn’t like and so forth. Since Unsettled is the first novel of a series, I would embrace things that my readers had to say, to keep the thrill of the story going.

Best advice for anyone starting out writing?

Well as a budding author myself, I can’t stress enough the importance of networking. When I first approached the idea of writing a novel, I was mortified by the idea of social networking and meeting people face to face. Luckily I was able to meet a few great people early on who showed me the ropes of the author world. I think my exposure to them has made my author experience richer.

If you had the chance to go on a date with one of your characters, what one would it be?

I would love to hang out with Damon for a couple hours. Get some insight into what he was thinking! I don’t think I could be his Mystic though!

What’s next for S.C. Ellington?

I am working on publicizing Unsettled: A Novel. My novel is set to release on December 10, 2013. I am also gearing up to write the second installment of the Unsettled Series.

Learn more about Ms. Ellington and her debut novel Unsettled at the following links:
Website: www.scellington.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/SC-Ellington/1392923607602579
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18485102-unsettled?ac=1
Instagramhttp://instagram.com/authorscellington
Pinterest:  http://www.pinterest.com/authorscelling/boards/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/ScEllington

 

Leave a Reply

